A Follow Up To My Senator’s Uninformed Position


The below letter is my follow up reply to Senator Diane Finestein’s reply to my initial letter to her. You will note that her response is dangerously simplistic. I say this because of my concern about my reasonable expectation of government  protecting society from wrongdoers. How can government protect society if they do not even understand the nature of the problem or the people causing it.

Reply To Feinstein’s Reply

Thank you for your reply but I respectfully suggest that you do your homework as this is not all it seems from its “MTV 15 second sound bite”. Bush made a mistake as did Obama, therefore that does not mean that one should continue to make the mistake again. You know what Einstein said about repeating the same thing and each time expecting a different outcome.

This is not about religion and in no way is a constitutional issue. Aside from the feelings of the survivors, this is about a political ideology and Sharia law. Rauf, who is no more than a self aggrandizing narcissist, has stated his favoring Sharia law for us. Since you also refer to the Cordoba name, I feel his use of said name and plans to open on 9/11 should tell you who he really is. Cordoba was the Mosque in Spain that was built atop the ruins of the conquered land’s Catholic church, an historical attribute of Moorish conquests.  9/11 was the date that was the height of the Caliphate, until stopped by the Austrians and Armenians in battle while the Moors where on their way to sack the Vatican.

Calling Rauf a moderate is fine, but where? In Kuwait? He is no moderate by our standards. When I see thousands of Moslems in America or elsewhere protesting in the streets against Sharia, suicide bombing, stoning of woman, I will gladly refer to them as “moderates”.  As a Jew, I remember my mother always “shrying” in front of the television set when a criminal was apprehended and she would always beg: “My God, I hope he is not Jewish”. She was a moderate.

I know my history Senator and I investigate facts in order to have the opinion that I do, and while I thank you again for your reply, I would be most indebted to you if you would do further research on this issue so your voice in the Senate reflects the facts on hand.

— On Fri, 10/1/10, senator@feinstein.senate.gov <senator@feinstein.senate.gov> wrote:

From: senator@feinstein.senate.gov <senator@feinstein.senate.gov>
Subject: U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein responding to your message
To: Ira
Date: Friday, October 1, 2010, 11:49 AM

Dear Ira:

Thank you for writing to share your views regarding the proposal to build a mosque and a cultural center in lower Manhattan.  I appreciate knowing your opinion on this matter.

Two moderate Muslim organizations, the American Society for Muslim Advancement and the Cordoba Initiative, have partnered to open a mosque and a cultural center in lower Manhattan as a venue for mainstream Islam and a counterbalance to radicalism.  The leader of the project, Feisal Abdul Rauf, has traveled to the Middle East under the auspices of the U.S. State Department during the administrations of Presidents George W. Bush and Barack Obama to promote religious tolerance and display America’s diversity.

The site of the September 11, 2001, attack holds profound significance for all Americans.  However, the site of this facility is a local zoning matter and as a United States Senator I do not have jurisdiction over this proposed building project.  The proposed mosque is supported by New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg and was approved by New York City Community Board No. 1, which oversees land use and zoning in lower Manhattan.

It is important to be mindful that the United States was founded as a refuge from religious intolerance.  The ability to practice one’s faith freely is a fundamental American value, and I believe it is this diversity and acceptance of all religions that makes America great.

Once again, thank you for writing to share your views on the proposal to build a mosque in lower Manhattan.  Should you have any additional comments or questions, please do not hesitate to contact my Washington, D.C. office at (202) 224-3841.

Sincerely yours,
Dianne Feinstein
United States Senator

Further information about my position on issues of concern to California and the Nation are available at my website.

About ira1942

An American concerned for our country and it's current direction.
This entry was posted in politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

